The Best West Virginia Elopement Weddings
Exchange Vows with a Romantic Shenandoah Mountains Elopement Ceremony
What could be better than finding a ‘country road’ to ‘take you home’ to your loved one and start your new life together? West Virginia, the lovely Mountain State, is a great place to take your vows. The diverse terrain and breath-taking scenery of the Appalachian Mountains will make your elopement in West Virginia truly unforgettable.
From the unrivaled beauty of its river gorges to its limestone caverns or luxurious mountain resorts and spas, West Virginia is a truly special backdrop for romance and eloping.
WV Elopements - North Fork Mountain Inn
North Fork Mountain Inn - this romantic B&B in Smoke Hole, WV offers seven rooms, two suites and a cabin for your romantic West Virginia elopement. Four poster beds, fireplaces, two-person whirlpool tubs, and stunning views are some of the offerings you will enjoy here.
Customized elope packages are available at the North Fork Mountain Inn. For example:
Ceremony on the deck or inside by the fireplace, bouquet and boutonniere, wedding cake and sparkling wine or cider with keepsake glasses, massage and reflexology treatments, candlelit dinner for two, chocolate-covered strawberries and professional photography session with DVD.
Other options that can be arranged include videographer, gourmet picnic basket, or arrangements for guests to the ceremony. Breakfast is always included. Callfor information and booking.
Marriages in West Virginia
You must appear together at a County Clerk’s office to apply for your marriage certificate. The cost may vary from county to county, but is generally around $36 and cash is the only accepted method of payment. Photo identification will be necessary, and you will need to know your parent’s full names (including mother’s maiden name) and where they were born.
You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia to obtain a marriage license, but if you ARE, then you must apply for one in the county where one or both of you reside. You may then use it in any county of West Virginia.
If this is not a first marriage, a divorce decree or death certificate will be required.
Provided you are over 18 years of age, there will be no waiting period before you can marry, and the license is valid for 60 days. No blood tests are needed. If either partner is under 18 years of age, a parent or guardian must be present when applying for a marriage license and must give written consent. There is also a three-day waiting period for those under 18 between the purchase of a marriage license and the ceremony.
The State of West Virginia does not allow cousin, common-law or same-sex marriages.
A marriage ceremony may be officiated by a religious representative, family court judge, circuit judge or a justice of the state Supreme Court. No witnesses are required.
(Please Note: This page on West Virginia elopement packages is a guide only. Prices for these West Virginia weddings as well as requirements for marriages in the state of West Virginia can change. Please consult with suppliers and official agencies before making any purchases or set arrangements.)